At midnight last night, NaNoWriMo 2008 began! Woot!! I admit that I did not start right at midnight. Instead, I let the older two boys have the computers while I hovered for a bit, and then went to bed. Fifteen minutes later, I came back downstairs, sent the boys to bed, and then started the novel. Roughly 2500 words and an hour and a half later, I finally crawled into bed. I was up again at 7:45 in the morning, and by the time I walked away at 9:45, I'd added another 3k to my tally. It's not nearly as hard as I thought it would be, but then it's only day one. My goal is another 5k before I go to work tomorrow morning at 11:00. I'll hopefully get about 3k or so tonight, and then tomorrow will be easy sailing at 2k.
The story is coming together in a way that I really like. I'm sort of surprised at how it's working out, and in a good way. Before I'd always tried so hard to have everything planned out with an outline set almost in stone. I'm wondering if maybe that was my downfall. Of course, not having a deadline doesn't help much. Now that I know I can write more than 5000 words in one day, in fact in about three hours, there's no excuse not to write the story I've long dreamed of writing.
Of course, first I have to finish NaNo. :)
The rest of the family has a pathetic start. The twins have written no more than 500 words between them. My daughter has done nothing, and neither has my husband. My only child not doing NaNo has read what I wrote and is impressed. :D
Okay, off to work on the novel. The older boys have friends over tonight so I have to take advantage of whatever time I can get on the computer. Tomorrow is going to be a nightmare, but that's okay. There's always the early morning.
Saturday, November 1, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment